Remembering who is who…

22 Mar

There are times when we are tempted to argue with God.

For example, we might look at the suffering in the world and wonder, what are you doing? Or we might look at something like hell and wonder, is that really fair?

I thought I might share some thoughts about God that I like to remember before I open my mouth to argue.

1. He is an absolutely and infinitely perfect being who lacks nothing.

By infinitely here I mean there are no bounds to His greatness. There is no end to His power. He can do anything He wants. There is no end to His knowledge. He always understands the best things to do. And there is no end to His holiness. He always wants to do the right thing.

When I am starting to look at what is going on in this world or my life and feel the urge to begin arguing with God, I need remember who I am talking about. This is not the kind of person who is every going to be tempted to do evil for selfish reasons.

2. He is above our comprehension and therefore it is unreasonable to argue with the way He works.

When I find fault with God’s rule of the world, it is like I am saying I have a better plan, as if I were somehow fit to be His adviser. I might imagine myself at that moment like a little child dressed up in his best suit trying to argue a case with the Supreme Court. Times ten.

We shouldn’t be surprised if some of God’s ways are mysterious to us. We are talking about God.

3. Since God is God He has the right to do what He wants to do with what He has made.

I need to make sure as I think about how God is working in the world to remember who is the instrument and who is the end. Instruments are something you use for a purpose. An end is the purpose. God is not merely an instrument. I am and He is the end and He absolutely has the right to be the end since He created the world and sustains everything in it.

4. God in what He does is worthy to be sovereign over all things.

He is not only the end of all things, He deserves to be the end. Just imagine if you met someone who could explain the way everything works. Or imagine if you met someone before whom angelic beings bow. Imagine if you met someone who had never thought a wrong thought or done a wrong deed. What would that person deserve? WORSHIP, because the only person who can do all these things is GOD!

Who are we to say what God has to do? If we are in the position where we can command God and He has to submit to us, then we are God and not Him.

(Adapted from Jonathan Edwards sermon, “the fact that God is God is sufficient to still all objections to His sovereignty…”)

4 Responses to “Remembering who is who…”

  1. tommie March 23, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Complaining=prideful distrust of God.

  2. Mark Penrith March 23, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Hey Josh[ua?],

    Are you Wayne’s son fellowshipping up at Grace Fellowship in Pretoria?

Leave a Reply

