Rambling…

29 Sep

A funny thing happens when I visit a church in the township. It does not matter whether I know the pastor, whether I know the church, whether I have ever visited before; I am treated like a king.

There is often a seat suddenly reserved for me in the front of the church. The pastor will often give an extended welcome to my family. There have even been times, where I am even asked to preach. And we are talking, on the spot.

I am sure part of the reason for this is good, old fashioned hospitality; I would think another part of the reason is the novelty of having a family that looks like ours visiting; but I am guessing another reason, quite honestly, has to do with the color of my skin.

I was thinking a little bit about American culture in light of that.

People are people so I am guessing we do things that are similar, it just expresses itself perhaps in a little different form. What kind of person could visit our churches who would get that kind of special treatment?

Someone who is famous, or at least famous in the Christian world.

Many of us are fascinated with people who are known by a lot of other people. In fact, many automatically consider them a success and worth listening to and learning from just because there are a lot of people who know their name. I remember going to a conference where a man I greatly respect was speaking, on the importance of living for the glory of God. An important subject¸ definitely. And he did a fantastic job. But people who go to good churches were speaking afterwards as if he talked about a subject they had never heard about. Really?

One of my favorites, and probably I do this as well, but it still funny even if I make the mistake and that is when someone quotes someone who says something like the Trinity is important or I saw this recently someone quoted the Nicene Creed and then put the name of a pastor who has become relatively famous after it.

O.k.?

I have white skin, but in terms of what I know, it doesn’t mean all that much.

Someone is famous, it doesn’t automatically mean much either.

Having a lot of people know about you, it doesn’t equal godliness, does it? You can be godly and have a lot of people know you, or you can be totally ungodly and famous at the same time.

It is a little bit silly and even embarrassing. After all, thousands of people cheer at stadiums every week when a person catches a ball, does that make the act of catching a ball significant? Lots of people get excited about people who are really not doing anything all that important. It doesn’t mean we should look down on those who have that kind of acclaim, but we shouldn’t bow down and worship either.

Leave a Reply

